Djokovic endures deja vu after hitting line judge
PARIS: For the second Grand Slam in succession, a line judge was in the firing line from Novak Djokovic; however, it didn’t cost the Serb anything over a restless second on Monday.
Favorite Djokovic rushed to make a help return in the eighth game against Karen Khachanov in their French Open fourth-round conflict, and the ball ricocheted off his edge and straight into the top of a male line judge.
It brought back moment recollections of the world number one’s sensational default at the U.S. Open – additionally in a fourth-round match against Spain’s Pablo Carreno Busta.
On that event, Djokovic swiped a ball behind him towards the stopping board in the wake of losing a point and coincidentally hit a female line judge in the throat – leaving competition authorities no decision except to exclude him.
This time there was no accuse connected to him as the ball had been in play. However, he said it had been a stressing second in no way different.
“My gosh, it was very abnormal this feels familiar,” Djokovic said after his 6-4 6-3 6-3 demolition of Khachanov that put him in his 47th Grand Slam quarter-last.
“I’m attempting to discover the lines individually and check whether he’s alright because I saw he had a tad of a wound, similar to redness, in that place in the head where the ball hit him.
“I trust he’s okay. He certainly managed it excellently and fearlessly. In any case, it was a hit because I was very close. Clearly, because of what occurred in New York, individuals… will make the story out of this.
“It has passed to me and to numerous different parts over the most recent 15 years that I’ve been on the visit. I’ve seen it a great deal when the ball ricochets from the racket and the edge, hit somebody in the stands, or somebody that is near you or line umpire.